Lying here

Lying here
I’m suffocating
In the strait-jacket of our love.
Your arms gripped tight around me,
Your breathing in my ear.

I’m staring at the curtain edge
Where light is filtering through –
My mind is out there, fizzing,
My soul so light and free –

bubbling, soaring.

I’m off through the woods;
twig-snapping,
stream-splashing,
laughing.
Now breathless, scratched,
muddied.
Happy.

But mindful of your dreaming,
Not wanting to disturb,
I lie quite still, so dutiful.
At least, my body does.

Leave a Reply

